For God has not given us a spirit of fear but of power and of love and of a sound mind


Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Image via Wikipedia

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear but of power and of love and of a sound
mind.” -1 Timothy 1:7

Turn on the Power
Many years ago, I saw a film, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, a high-energy
action film created to entertain the masses. One scene in this film hit me with
one truth that I’ve never been able to wipe from my mind. A large table holds dozens of ornate cups, each representing a goblet Christ could have used at the last supper.
Most are shiny gold with precious stones inlaid into the sides or bases. Yet, the
film’s star bypasses them all, reaches for a simple cup that appeared to be carved
out of wood, and says, “This looks like the cup of a carpenter.”

Indeed, the world expected the Messiah to come in glory, to be born in a royal household,
to have the privilege of wealth. Someone who would have a goblet inlaid with precious
stones. Instead, He was born in a manger and endured the hardships of life that
you and I experience every day. He knew hunger, He knew thirst, He knew what it
felt like to lack resources, and to work with His hands to make a living. Jesus
lived this life because that’s what the Father asked of Him. Yet, despite hardships,
poverty, and no roof over His head to call His own, He looked people in the eye
and said, “God loves you and so do I. Let me show you how much.”

Always remember that the real power in your life is not in your means but in your
knowledge. Today you can take your eyes off your circumstances for you know Jesus
and He knows you. He knows what you are going through. He lived it Himself. He knows
your hardships and says to be joyful and love anyway. Frankly, your biggest battles
in this life will not be fought against negative circumstances or people, but against
the thoughts in your own mind. Today, you can turn on the power and win that battle
for your mind. Invite Jesus in. He is all you need.

PRAYER:

Lord Jesus, I feel in turmoil so much of my day. I worry and I fear decisions, relationships,
and lack of resources. I feel as if I’m drowning in anxiety. But You said, “Be of
good cheer for I have overcome the world.” Today, I pray that Your Holy Spirit would
penetrate my mind and give me the courage and strength to overcome these self-defeating
thoughts. Today, thanks to You, I’ve just won the battle for my mind. Let Your joy
reign within me today! In Jesus’ name, I pray. Amen.

What causes you worry and fear? When you think of Jesus, who is able to help in
all circumstances, how do you feel?

May The Good Lord Save Nigeria And Israel From All Our Enemies And Prosper Us Beyond Our Imaginations, In Jesus Christ Mighty Name We Pray, Amen!

About BUMMYLA

I am a fun loving, hard working, christain young man, who loves to blog.
This entry was posted in God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For God has not given us a spirit of fear but of power and of love and of a sound mind

  1. Pingback: Remember the Lord Your God; for He is the One that gave you power to get wealth « bummyla

  2. Pingback: sound mind « onbeingmindful

  3. Pingback: The Power to defeat fear and activate faith « bummyla

Leave a Reply

